Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Am I the only one who is ready for fall to get here? My word, I’ve never been the biggest fan of summer anyway, but this year is really not helping one bit. I think the heat is beginning to eat my brain cells, and I don’t need help in that department.

It is so hot, the thought of turning the oven on makes me break into a sweat. So I’m using my slow cooker as much as I can to try and stave off heat stroke.

This is an adaptation of a staple Sunday dinner when I was growing up, it is just as good as it was when I was little. It can’t get much simpler: chicken (every time I have tried to write ‘chicken’ in this post, it has come out ‘chick’, I told you I was loosing brain cells), rice, and cheese. Lots of cheese.

DSC_0061

All the stars.

DSC_0049

Slow cooker liners are your friend, use them. They will make your life easier.

Place the chicken in the bottom of the slow cooker.

DSC_0052

The the corn, fresh or frozen is fine. When I use canned I rinse it first, it seems to taste better.

DSC_0053

Add the rice…

DSC_0054

Soups…

DSC_0055

and water. Cover and cook on low for 8-9 hours.

DSC_0057

Stir in the cheese and cover again for 5-10 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and gooey.

DSC_0058

Yum and yum.

DSC_0060

Someone please tell me when October gets here, and let me know if you find my brain cells lying around. Now go make some chick and rice.

Steph

 

Cheesy Chicken and Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1-1 1/2 pounds chicken breasts
  • 2 cups corn, fresh or frozen
  • 1 can (10 oz.) cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can (10 oz.) cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 cup wild rice
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions:

In a 6 quart slow cooker, put all ingredients in the order listed except cheese. Cook on low for 8-9 hours. Stir in cheese, replace lid and let cook for 5-10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Oven option: When heat stroke is not an issue, place all ingredients except cheese in a 9×13 pan and cover with foil. Bake at 300 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Remove foil and sprinkle with cheese, cook 5-10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

DSC_0061

Leave a Reply

