Happy Monday! I’m getting really excited about Thanksgiving. I wish I could be excited about a short work week, but mine is turning out to be longer than usual this week. Oh, the joys of working in retail.

But let’s not talk about work, let’s talk about cupcakes…

Three days before Thanksgiving, a normal blogger would share with you a festive treat to serve at your Thanksgiving feast. Something with pumpkin, or cranberries, or at least something that looked Fall-like.

IMG_0472

I am not a normal blogger. I do what makes me happy, and what makes me happy usually isn’t normal.

So in celebration of being abnormal, I give you the best cupcakes I’ve made this month. Granted these are the only cupcakes I’ve made this month, but let’s not get lost in technicalities shall we?

IMG_0473

Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

Makes: 24 cupcakes   Serving size: 1 cupcake   Points+ per serving: 6

Ingredients:

  • 1 box white cake mix (I like Betty Crocker the best)
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. splenda
  • 1 c. plain Greek yogurt
  • 4 egg whites
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  • 2 T. unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 c. milk chocolate chips
  • Double batch of OBB Perfect Frosting 

Directions:

Combine all ingredients except chocolate chips until mostly smooth, fold in chocolate chips. Fill cupcake liners with a 1/4 cup measuring cup or ice cream scoop until 2/3 to 3/4 full.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 15-20 minutes until cupcakes spring back slightly. Let cupcakes cool slightly in the pan, then transfer to a cooling rack. Frost cupcakes as desired.

Notes:

I know it seems weird to put Greek yogurt in cupcakes, but trust me here, it makes them so yummy.

For the frosting for this batch I used half white sugar and half brown sugar, it tasted amazing with the chocolate chips.

IMG_0477

IMG_0478

Being abnormal is fantastic.

Steph name black

Leave a Reply

