Mostly Meatless

When I started my weight loss journey a little over a year ago, I naturally began eliminating or limiting certain foods. Those foods were mostly sweet (sadly), some carbs (I could never be carb-free) and meats. I mostly limited my meat intake simply because it tended to be high point values, but I always craved it and ate it almost every day.

Recently, I have encountered an interesting phenomenon. For the last few months I haven’t been craving meat, at all. I didn’t even realize this until one day I was packing my lunch for work and saw a packaged of lunch meat in the fridge. That made me think of the last time I’d even had meat, I couldn’t even remember.

I realized that the only time I’d eaten meat in the last few months was when I would cook for Josh or when I was eating with other people (usually my parents since I’m there several times a week). Since I’m usually eating at work or home alone, that was about 1-2 meals a week that involved meat. This was a very strange realization coming from the girl who could eat a hamburger everyday a year ago.

So what does this mean? Well, to be honest, I have no idea. I have decided that I won’t necessarily completely cut meat from my diet right now.

I’m giving myself the freedom to eat when when I crave it as long as it is in a healthy manner. The biggest thing for me right now is just to make sure I get enough protein everyday. For now, I’m a mostly vegetarian.

With this new diet decided, I was in search of a good vegetarian cookbook to give me some ideas. Of course when I stumbled upon Mama Pea’s cookbook (and after a squeal of excitement at seeing it in a store) I bought it immediately. Oh my, this baby is full of little gems of deliciousness.

IMG_0459

Steph name black

Have your tastes changed much over time?

If you’re vegetarian/vegan, do you have any advice for me?

3 thoughts on “Mostly Meatless

  1. Candice

    I just started eating more vegetarian! I find that I eat much healthier if I’m actively trying to eat vegetarian meals. It sounds like you have a great, realistic idea of how you want to incorporate meat into your diet.

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    I used to call myself a vegetarian, but now I’m like you- mostly vegetarian. For what it’s worth, I think you have a healthy handle on your meat-eating habits

    Reply

Leave a Reply

