Growing Pains

Happy Friday! For those of you who have the weekend off, I am upset with you until Monday. For those of you who don’t, please send me Starbucks at 3 pm on Saturday (and at 11 am today for that matter). Everyone clear on the plan? OK good.

Lately I’ve been going through a growing period in regards to the blog. I’ve just been blogging about what I’m feeling at the moment; sometimes recipes, sometimes musings on life, sometimes book reviews. With this growing period has come pressure. Does the blog have too little focus? Even though I do have a blog mission statement, it isn’t something I consider while I write every post.

I love to share recipes, but is that OK? There are so many amazing recipe/food blogs out there, who cares about my simple recipes? Many of those blogs have a focus and a draw; vegetarian, vegan, gluten free, etc. My recipes don’t have much of a draw.

While I do share about books I’m reading, they aren’t the bestsellers or the type that everything likes to read. Should I be sharing about these books? Does anyone really care? The majority of society doesn’t like the squeaky clean books with a positive message that I stick to, so what’s the point of sharing my thoughts on these books?

321534507_Hu4jUAxE_c

Source

I have been feeling all of this pressure. But you want to know the funny thing? All of that pressure was coming from me. No blogger has ever had a bad thing to say about me or the blog (because they are all amazingly supportive), my friends and family always have good things to say, and trust me they would say something if they didn’t like it.

For whatever reason, mostly insecurity, I created all of this pressure for myself, and that pressure has kept me from fully enjoying my little piece of blogosphere. I love food, I love cooking, I love books and I love my life. So why shouldn’t I be free to write about any and all of these things? I write because I love it, and I will write about what I love.

438631296_hUaio66U_c

Source

No more pressure. This is me; I am quirky and indecisive, I love faith-based books and simply delicious recipes, I love to share my life. This is me. This is the blog. If you have a problem with my seeming lack of focus, I’m sorry that I’m not sorry.

Thank you for sharing this journey with me, I would be honored if you would stick around for the rest of the crazy ride.

Now would someone please see about that Starbucks?

Steph name black

What do you do when you start feeling the pressure?

One thought on “Growing Pains

  1. Sarah

    As I initially started reading this post, I was thinking the same things you wrote about later in the post- just write what YOU love…those kinds of things. So glad you think the same thing. I, for one, enjoy reading your blog. I feel like I get to know YOU, not what you think I want to hear. Keep it up (I know I’m going to keep reading!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

