Dad’s Baked Beans

Good morning and happy Friday! I’ve got a summer throwback recipe for you today, but I promise it’s still good even in the cooler weather.

My Dad is the king of the grill (in addition to being the king of Mexican), during the summer we are always over at my parent’s house grilling and hanging out. It is always mandatory that he makes baked beans, because they are just that good.

Since the weather is getting really chilly around here, making these gives me a little taste of summertime. Even though Fall is really my favorite.

IMG_0339

I love this recipe because you can change up the flavor so much just by using a different sweetener and barbecue sauce. I used my favorite Sweeter Style sauce from Woody’s Smokehouse, if you’re local and haven’t gone to Woody’s yet you really need to remedy that fact. Because then you can buy some sauce and make these. Ok? Ok.

This is one of those recipes that you just throw it all together and bake. Love those.

IMG_0342

Dad’s Baked Beans

Makes: 12-15 servings   Serving size: 1/2 cup   Points+:4

Ingredients:

  • 1 large (53 oz) can Pork and Beans, most of the liquid drained
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. sorghum (or molasses)
  • 2 T. mustard
  • 1/2 c. barbecue sauce
  • 1 c. bacon or 1 ham hock (optional)

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large casserole dish. Bake at 250 degrees F for 1-1 1/2 hours.

Tips:

You can cook these in the oven as directed, on the grill (tastes amazing) or even in the crockpot (about 4 hours on low).

When I’m out of sorghum I just bump up the brown sugar closer to 1/2 cup, still tastes good.

IMG_0340

Happy cooking! (< totally just typed happy booking. That applies too. Go read a book.)

Steph name black

Does your family grill during the summer?

Which of your parents is the bigger cook?

My Dad is the griller and Mexican-food maker, but Mom is the baker and fancier cook.

Leave a Reply

