The Judgment

Happy Fall Ya’ll Smile

This is going to come as a huge shock I know, but I’m really excited that fall is officially here. I had dreams of a warm fall-infused breakfast this morning, which is really appropriate considering it’s about 50 degrees around here. Then I woke up with a raging sore throat that did not like the idea of anything hot. Besides, of course, some tea.

DSC_0521

Smoothie to the rescue. Sorry oatmeal, I’ll get back to you and your warm goodness tomorrow.

In the mix:

  • 1 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 t. xanthum gum
  • crumbled apple crumb VitaTop

I’ve been wanting to try VitaTops for awhile and finally picked some up with a coupon last week. The verdict: they’re good, but I can make better. Saves me about $4.

DSC_0527

Thanks goodness, I’m finally getting around to reviewing The Judgment by Beverly Lewis. It’s about time because I just picked up my copy of The Mercy, the third and final book in the series.

Compared to The Thorn, the first book in this series, this book has a lot more drama throughout.

Hen is still estranged from her husband who vehemently does not support her Amish loving ways. She continues to try and reach out to him, showing him love while still following the Amish beliefs she has re-adopted. His response is to threaten her with divorce court and gaining sole custody of their daughter, Mattie Sue.

Rose is moving on with her betrothed, Silas, after Nick professed his love for her and abruptly left. Things seem to be progressing well until an old friend returns to Lancaster County to help a new mother, and gain a lot of attention from Silas. As these events unfold, Rose is forced to re-examine her relationship with Silas.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I love these books. I love them partly because I’m fascinated with Amish culture and Beverly Lewis always delivers lots of details and insight in the Amish life. But I also love that the situations and feeling that these characters deal with are the same as anyone else. Anyone can relate to being unsure about your future, trying to love someone despite your differences and disagreements.

The Judgment gets 4 Sweet PB Spoons.

DSC_0357_thumb1DSC_0357_thumb55DSC_0357_thumb56DSC_0357_thumb57DSC_0357_thumb58

Happy Friday!

Steph name black

Are you excited for fall?

Have you read any good books lately?

2 thoughts on “The Judgment

Leave a Reply

