Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Good Morning! The fall weather has really started to set in around here, yesterday was nothing but cold and rain.

As part of my fantasy football winnings, yesterday morning was all about what I wanted to do. The original plan was to start the morning off with a nice walk, but the rain quickly nixed that idea. So Josh and I enjoyed his and hers oatmeal bowls (mine was a carbon copy of Friday’s) before heading out to fulfill my remaining request, Starbucks and Target.

I got my usual nonfat chai tea latte that went completely undocumented (bad blogger) to sip on while we walked the store. While I did actually have a shopping list, I really enjoy just walking around with Josh. We haven’t seen each other much this week so trips like this are a great opportunity for us to just catch up and be together.

A trip to Target may not have been a very extravagant way to use my winning’s, in fact Josh would have gone with me anyway if I asked. But it was kind of fun to know he had to go with me.

Once we got home I got to work in the kitchen. I’ve been dreaming of pumpkin cupcakes for days and had to get a recipe made up before the dream cupcakes started talking to me. Smile

DSC_0494 (2)

Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes

Makes: 18 cupcakes                  Points+ per cupcake: 4 (2 for plain cupcakes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box spice cake mix
  • I can (15 oz.) canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • Double batch of Perfect Cupcake Frosting, substituting maple extract for vanilla and adding 1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl, scoop into lined muffin pans.
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 minutes or until cupcakes spring back slightly when touched.
  • Let cupcakes cool completely on a wire rack.
  • Make frosting and decorate cupcakes as desired.

Tips:

The pumpkin pie spice gives these a bit of a kick, but I like spice things with strong flavor. If you are crazy don’t like a strong spice flavor, just leave this out.

If you’ve never tried the frosting recipe from Our Best Bites, you really should. The flavor is so much better than regular milk and powdered sugar frostings and the fluffiness is amazing. Although I always forget to buy name brand butter, it really does make a difference in the finished frosting.

DSC_0491 (3)

DSC_0495 (2)

Steph name black

How do you prefer to spend time with your significant other?

Am I the only cupcake freak around here?

Leave a Reply

