I Have Confidence

Good Friday morning! I don’t know about you, but I am so happy today finally got here. Hello weekend!

I had every intention this morning in having a farewell smoothie, but it’s 55 degrees around here so that idea was nipped in the bud rather quickly. Hello again, oatmeal.

DSC_0476

All week I’ve had one song stuck in my head, but in a good way: “I Have Confidence” from The Sound of Music.

SoundOfMusic01

Source

Oh, I must stop these doubts,
All these worries.
If I don’t I just know I’ll turn back!
I must dream of the things I am seeking.
I am seeking the courage I lack….

With each step I am more certain,
Everything will turn out fine.
I have confidence,
The world can all be mine!
They’ll have to agree
I have confidence in me.
I have confidence in sunshine,
I have confidence in rain.
I have confidence that spring will come again!
Besides, which you see
I have confidence in me.

Confidence has really been on my mind this week, so why not talk about it? I feel like confidence can be a tricky thing: too much of it and you’re walking around with a head too big to fit in the doorway, too little of it and you inevitably setting yourself up for failure.

Always hold your head up, but be careful to keep your nose at a friendly level.  ~Max L. Forman

For me, this is a very fine line to walk, and I usually end up walking more on the setting myself up for failure side. I am my own worst critic, which sometimes leads me into a situation of convincing myself that I can’t do something.

I never want to become one of those people that has so much confidence in themselves that they are arrogant. But I so admire those that have confidence in themselves but are also humble.

In certain areas of my life, I am completely confident. My relationships with my husband, friends and family are areas that I have no doubts or fears. I know in my heart that these people will always be there for me no matter what I say, do, don’t do, or fail at. I am confident in my jobs: I know what is expected of me and how to do it well. I am confident in my faith: although sometimes I don’t understand things fully, my faith keeps me from being overwhelmed by the unknown.

However, in other areas I am not so confident: the ability to fulfill my dreams, both personal and professional. I have deep seeded fears that I don’t have the necessary skills, talents and drive to achieve those things I’ve always pictured for my life.

This week I have been forced to recognize that sometimes you have to take a risk, sometimes you have to take that leap even if you don’t feel confident enough to catch yourself. I just have to trust that if God leads me to take a leap, that He will catch me. He won’t abandon me.

200525268_7nAjIRFT_c

Source

I don’t know yet what this realization means right now: for me, for Josh and I and our life. I only know that I’m learning and growing in confidence of myself and my abilities. Only time will tell exactly where this path will take me. After all, Sister Maria did say: With each step I am more certain, everything will turn out fine.

The best way to gain self-confidence is to do what you are afraid to do.  ~Author Unknown

Steph name black

What do you do when your confidence is lacking?

How do you solve a problem like Maria? Winking smile

2 thoughts on “I Have Confidence

  1. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

    First, I just want to say that I love the new photo of you on the right of the page! You look gorgeous 🙂

    Second, the Jeremiah quote that you have here is literally printed on the coffee mug in front of me as I type this– crazy stuff.

    Third, confidence is something that I definitely lack in certain areas of my life as well. If it ever comes down to being friendly or socializing, I’ve got it covered. However– if I need to list off my skills to someone, forget about it. I need to work on being more confident in my talents so that I can spread the blessings and skills that I have been granted.

    Reply
    1. Steph Post author

      First, you are too sweet. And you’re gorgeous too! Second, the twilight zone theme song just played through my head. Third, you are so right about our talents being a blessing. I honestly never thought about it that way and it really is so true!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

