What I’m Loving Wednesday

Good Morning, friends! I hope your morning is starting off right. As I type this I’m sipping on a nice cup of tea, the perfect start to a morning. Here’s what I’m loving this week!

Making my own bread

Why didn’t I start doing this sooner?! So simple it’s ridiculous. I finally got the recipe just right.

DSC_0492 (2)

Whole Wheat Bread

Makes: 1 loaf. Points + per slice: 2-3(depending on how thick you slice it)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F)
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1/4 brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup bread flour (all purpose flour works too)
  • 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten
  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast

Directions:

  • Put all the ingredients into the bread machine in the order listed. Set on dough cycle.
  • Once the dough cycle is finished, take the dough out and shape into a loaf in a greased bread pan. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, 20-40 minutes.
  • Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes or until golden.

Tips: I honestly never check the temperature on my water, just think warm bath water. If it’s too hot to leave your hand in, it’s too hot for the yeast.

You can use regular whole wheat flour or white whole wheat, they taste the same but the white flour gives a slightly smoother texture.

I use bread machine yeast, whether I’m using my bread machine or not, it is much more forgiving than regular active dry yeast.

I don’t bake the bread in my bread machine because I don’t like the way the crust turns out. You can of course bake yours in the machine, or if you don’t have a bread machine this recipe has step by step instructions by hand.

Beginners Luck

I beat my husband in the first week of fantasy football, and I didn’t pay attention to stats at all. Yeah, he’s not too happy.

fantasy week 1

The winner is the one with the most cumulative points. Josh’s total: 362.9, my total: 369.7. I think he would have been happier if I’d beat him by 100 points. This just means that I get to choose what we do during our time together this weekend.

Oatmeal

Oh oatmeal, how I’ve missed you all summer. Welcome back.

DSC_0476

1/2 c. oats cooked in 1 c. water and 1/2  banana, topped with raisins and PB & Co. White Chocolate Wonderful

I know fall hasn’t officially started yet, but I just can’t help myself. The fall weather just sucks me in, I’m helpless to resist.

DSC_0438

1/2 c. oats cooked in 1 c. water and 1/2 banana, 1/2 canned pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg and splenda

DSC_0487 (3)

1/2 cup oats cooked in 1 cup water and 1/2 banana, topped with 1/4 cup pumpkin butter (I made this recipe from Skinny Taste). So much better than doctored canned pumpkin!

Although I will miss my smoothies, I may have to make a few to say farewell for the next several months.

Steph name black

Any ideas of what I should make Josh do with me this weekend?

What’s your favorite thing about fall?

2 thoughts on “What I’m Loving Wednesday

  1. Sarah

    Your love list brings a smile to my face. It’s always a treat to see what brings another person happiness.
    Hm..what should you make Josh do? If it were me, I’d want to pack a picnic and go on a hike (although it’d be a very subdued hike these days).
    Non-pregnant, I’d want to go to a wine tasting, a cute little cafe, and a yoga class.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

