De-Stressing

This week has been crazy, stressful, and just down right now fun. I have definitely been in need of a de-stress session: cooking to the rescue.

Being in my kitchen is honestly one of my favorite things (girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes…), when I am putting my energy into something that not only looks pretty but tastes good, it makes me happy. My kitchen is my haven, I feel at home and calm there.

So in honor of de-stresses and cooking, I want to share with you some yummies I’ve made recently.

Pumpkin French toast. Oh yeah, I went there. You may remember my warning about pumpkin overload now that the cooler weather has (mostly) set in. This is only the beginning friends.

DSC_0445

Pumpkin French Toast

Servings: 3      Serving size: 2 slices    Points+ per serving: 2

  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 c. egg beaters or egg whites
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger (you could also just just use 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice)
  • 6 slices whole wheat bread (I used my homemade bread, I’ll share this recipe as soon as I have it perfected)

Combine all ingredients except the bread. One slice at a time, let the bread soak a bit in the milk mixture. Cook in a skillet on medium heat until golden brown.

So good. You can thank me later.

DSC_0446

When we had Dad’s birthday dinner Mom made this awesome black bean salad with jicama. I was a little nervous because I’d never had jicama before. If you’ve never had it, fear not. Jicama has no flavor, just crunch. It’s very much like tofu in the respect that it takes on the flavor of whatever you put it with.

This salad was so yummy I had to recreate it, STAT. The recipe is based on this one from WW.

DSC_0497

Black Bean Salad

Servings: 4   Serving Size: 3/4 c.   Points+ per serving: 3

  • 1 c. canned black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 c. jicama, peeled and diced
  • 1/4 c. canned corn, drained (you could also use fresh or frozen)
  • 1/4 c. avocado, diced
  • 1/2 c. tomatoes, diced (canned or fresh works)
  • 3 T. lime juice
  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. chili powder (or chili seasoning)

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

Is that easy enough? This is really great just on its own, with chips, in a tortilla, whatever your little heart desires.

DSC_0500

Steph name black

Have you made any yummies recently?

What is your go to de-stressor?

2 thoughts on “De-Stressing

  1. Sarah

    Cooking (when I can just take my time) is a big destressor for me, too. So is yoga. I’m hoping I can get some regular yoga in once this baby comes!

    Reply
    1. Steph Post author

      Yoga is a big de-stressor for me too. I’m horribly about forgetting to practice and then I wonder why I’m so tight and stressed, I’ve got to work on getting it back into my routine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

