The Journey To Self Love

I think we’ve all had times in our lives (some short, some life spanning) when we struggle with self love. For me, I struggled a lot during my overweight period, but I still struggle even after losing weight.

Being surrounded by magazine covers, TV shows, movies, and advertisements featuring seemingly perfect women, it’s no surprise so many girls and women struggle with their self image. When you see those Photoshoped and airbrushed pictures, it’s so easy to fall into the comparison trap. Thoughts creep into my mind: I’ll never be that thin, my skin isn’t that pretty, I don’t have that kind of muscle tone, her hair is prettier than mine.

No one is immune to these thoughts, but through the last year I have learned to not only more successfully ignore these thoughts but also to love the body I have, just the way it is. Whenever I start to feel these thoughts forming in my mind I think about a few things….

I am unique. I am the only me there will ever be. 

IMG_0231

No one, ever in the past or in the future will be like me. So why would I want to waste time trying to be someone else? We all have our little quirks, yes sometimes they might be a little weird or embarrassing, but they make us, us. I can’t wink, or whistle, or snap my fingers. I’m told that I talk funny, although I live in the Midwest I say many things in a Northern accent and quite a few in a Southern accent. I have no idea why.

I am strong. I am strong physically, my body is able to lose weight when I give it what it needs. My body is strong enough to work a full week and still handle any exercise I throw at it. I am mentally strong. I am able to handle what life throws my way, sometimes I could use more grace and less tears, but I do it.

I am beautiful. I have beautiful eyes that can see so many beautiful things.

DSC_0241

I have beautifully strong legs that carry me through life. They may not be as thin as I would like, but that’s ok. I have beautiful hands that can be gentle and calming to a husband who has had a bad day, and they can work hard to provide for my family.

DSC_0444

They may have a few too many scars, but that’s ok because it means I work hard each day. I may have a little more jiggle in my middle than I would like, but I am working with my body to make it as healthy as it can be.

I am loved, just the way I am. I am blessed with a wonderful, supportive, handsome husband who loves me despite my flaws and sometimes because of them.

DSC_0331

I have wonderful friends and family who support me in anything and never make me feel like I’m not good enough. I am a child of God, made in His image, made exactly the way He wanted me to be. Who am I to argue with Him?

I am by no means someone who lives daily without negative feelings or thoughts creeping in, but focusing on the positive definitely helps me shy away from them. For me, it’s just something I have to do a day at a time. The journey to self love is a long one, take it one step at a time.

If you have ever or do struggle with negative self talk or weak self self, just remember: you are unique, you are strong, you are beautiful, you are loved.

Happy Friday!

Steph name black

2 thoughts on “The Journey To Self Love

Leave a Reply

