What I’m Loving Wednesday: Recap Edition

As I mentioned on Sunday, we spent the weekend in Branson with the family for Josh’s grandparent’s 50th anniversary. As promised, here is the recap from our trip.

This weekend was a surprise for Grandma and Grandpa, they were told to clear all weekends for this month and were picked up on Friday by Josh’s Aunt (Neina) and Uncle(Dennis). Josh, Misty (his Mom) and I arrived at our condo a little before 7 pm on Friday.

We stayed at the Hunter’s Friend Condos, I really liked the location because it was far enough from Silver Dollar City and the strip to be quiet but close enough we didn’t have to drive ages to get anywhere.

IMG_0223

Huge kitchen, I wanted to take it home with me.

IMG_0221

Nice big living/dining area.

IMG_0226

I wanted to take the tub home too, it was more like a swimming pool.

Unfortunately we didn’t make it there before Grandma and Grandpa did, but we pretended and said surprise anyway.

DSC_0322

DSC_0327

The only first order of business Friday evening was to eat, a lot. Lasagna, manicotti, salad, bread. Yum. Oh and cake, lots of cake.

DSC_0239

How cute is this cake? They put a picture of Grandma and Grandpa many moons ago on it, cuteness and yumminess all rolled into one.

Saturday started somewhat lazily, a few of us went on a walk around the loop our condo was on. I wish I would have taken my camera, we saw 3 deer and a fox just hanging around. I also fell in love with about 6 houses I could have moved right into.

We had a big breakfast together and then headed down to the water, we were feet away from the lake.

IMG_0237

IMG_0238

IMG_0239

That’s a big house the the top of the hill, it looked huge.

IMG_0240

After hanging out in the lake for awhile, we headed up to the condo’s pool. For some reason I am much more comfortable swimming in a pool that a lake or creek. Lakes freak me out, I don’t like not being able to see the bottom.

Once we all got decent looking we took a few family pictures.

DSC_0331

DSC_0332

This family can only be serious for so long.

DSC_0255

I love that Neina and I have our hands in the exact same position, I swear we didn’t plan it. We’re just awesome like that.

We had a fairly lazy day and then an early dinner because we had another surprise for Grandma and Grandpa in the evening.

IMG_0232

The SIX show! 

IMG_0236

IMG_0234

IMG_0235

The show is six brothers performing a cappella, but not like any a cappella I’d ever heard. They not only sing without musical instruments, they create musical instruments with their voices. All I can say is, amazing. It was such a great blend of music, comedy and improv.

The first half of the show was a mix of oldies, classic rock and modern songs, which was really nice because everyone knew each song. We were all laughing so hard; my cheeks were hurting, Misty was crying and I think Josh might have stopped breathing at one point.

The second half of the show really sealed the deal for me, they started with sharing a video and song dedicated to their Mom. She was told at a young age she would never have children, then she went on to have 10 (10!) boys. She died a few years ago of cancer and one of the brothers wrote a song for her. We all went from laughing hysterically in the first part of the show to crying our eyes out at the beginning of the second half. It was such a beautiful sentiment and a great song.

The rest of the show was hymns and patriotic songs, quite the turnaround from the beginning of the show but these guys made it work. Josh and I agreed that this is one show we will have to come to every year, and we are not Branson show kind of people.

After the show, we all headed back to the condo to hit the hay, it was a long day. But such a pretty place to be exhausted.

DSC_0241

DSC_0242

Sunday we got checked out from the condo and made a trip down the Landing. Mostly it had the same stores as our mall does, but it’s just so pretty.

IMG_0245

IMG_0247

Then, unfortunately it was time to head home. We had such a great weekend, it was so nice to just be able to hang out and talk.

Steph name black

Have you been on any great getaways lately?

Leave a Reply

