Can You Say Mmmm?

I have fallen in love….with Mmmm Sauce. I’ve been hearing about this stuff for quite some time on several blogs and finally decided I had to see what all the fuss was about. I kept thinking ‘surely it isn’t that good, it’s just sauce’. Oh friends, I was very, very wrong.

The original recipe for Mmmm Sauce is Mama Pea’s from Peas And Thank You, I altered it a little because a) I didn’t have some ingredients, b) I didn’t want garlic in it (garlic and I aren’t friends) and c) I can’t make a recipe without changing it, I think it’s a physical impossibility.

Mmmm Sauce (adapted from Mama Pea’s Recipe) 1/4c. = 4 Points+

  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. almonds
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1/4 c. chickpeas
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. oregano
  • 1/2 t. basil
  • the juice of 1/2 a lemon – 2 T. or so

Combine it all in a blender and wait. Hopefully your blender has better luck with the almonds than mine did, my poor blender has seen better days.

IMG_0192

Next time I think I will chop up the almonds in my teeny tiny food processor or but slivered almonds so my blender doesn’t have to work so hard.

IMG_0193

The only way I can describe mmmm sauce is it tastes like hummus combined with cheese sauce, which doesn’t really make sense at all. Just trust me on this one, it sounds really nasty but I promise it’s good! It’s a little higher in points+ than I would like, but it’s so worth it. Plus eating it with veggies doesn’t add any more points so that definitely helps!

IMG_0201

Mama Pea sure knew what she was doing when she named this sauce, all I can say is mmmm!

Steph name black

Leave a Reply

