Overdue

I know this post is long overdue, but I just haven’t been able to focus on the blog recently. I am sorry for my lack of presence, not only to you but also to myself. This blog is very cathartic for me, and I have missed it these last few weeks.

As you may already know (as most of the world does) that on May 22, Joplin Missouri was hit by an EF-5 tornado. I have never stated this before for privacy reasons, but Joplin is my hometown. Josh and I live in a small town just outside of Joplin, but we both grew up in the area. Up until last year, we have lived our entire married life in Joplin.

By the grace of God, I was at home (Josh was out of town) when the tornado hit, not in Joplin as I normally would have been. My parent’s home was in the direct path of the tornado, but – again, by the grace of God – they are safe. I’m not going to post pictures of this disaster, because for one you can Google Joplin, MO and see thousands, and second they just don’t do it justice. The pictures cannot express the sinking feeling I get every time I drive into Joplin, or the feeling of getting lost everyday in your hometown.

It has been just over three weeks since the tornado hit, and Joplin has faded from the news. But it hasn’t faded from the hearts and minds of those impacted. I’ve heard it said over and over again “OK Joplin, the world is watching you, what will you do?”, and boy has this town answered. I have never seen people rally together like this, support and help each other and just love each other. It gives me so much hope that God will use this disaster to turn Joplin around, to change it into a city that shows His love.

There is a song that seems to have become Joplin’s anthem in the last three weeks, and it is so appropriate; Chris Tomlin’s “God of This City”. The line that touches my heard each time is this:

For greater things have yet to come,

and greater things are still to be done in this city

God is not done with Joplin, He is not done with you, and He is not done with me. Whatever position you may be in; victim of the disaster, lucky one who lost nothing but a feeling of security, or someone watching it on the news. He is not done with you.

One thought on “Overdue

  1. Gail

    Stephanie, this is very poignant. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Again, we are thankful your family is safe & praying for the families & businesses there as they recover from this tragedy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

