Weekend Recap

Whew! As you may have inferred from my whole one post last week, it was a busy week for me. Both jobs were super crazy and busy for me, by the time I got home everyday I collapsed on my cozy bed. This meant that not only did blogging go untouched by so did my laundry, house cleaning and time with my Hubby. Thankfully, I had this weekend off so I’ve been able to recuperate.

A Bookworm's Heaven

Source (Because I’m a slacker and didn’t use my camera all weekend)

Is there any better antidote to a stressful week than a trip to the bookstore? I had a gift card burning a hole in pocket for Books A Million so obviously it had to be my first stop on Saturday! As is usual for me when I make a trip there, I picked out about 5 more books than I had money for. Why can’t books be cheaper?!

After sufficiently restocking my bookshelves I headed to my other favorite store…..

Source

I swear my stress level immediately lowers when I walk into Target, and it is only because has nothing to do with the fact that there is a Starbucks directly inside the door. After buying my body weight in household supplies I headed home for a quiet evening.

Sunday was a long, rainy day. Josh and I attended the Discovery Class (finally) at church and then went to the 11:00 service. The Discovery Class is a monthly class where you find out a lot of the history of the church and get a more in-depth explanation of what the church believes. We’ve been going to College Heights Christian Church for about a year now and this is the first time we’ve actually been able to go to the class.

After church we had lunch, stopped by to visit Josh’s Dad and Step Mom, rented a few movies and went to the grocery store. Josh and I spent the rest of the day watching our rentals; 127 Hours, Skyline and Tron.

127 Hours was good, I wanted to watch it mainly because it was based on the true story of Aron Ralston, a mountain climber who gets trapped by a boulder for 5 days. He eventually frees himself by cutting off his own arm, then walks several miles before being rescued. It was very realistic and makes you think about what you would do to survive. I did have to look away for about 10 minutes while he actually cut his arm off.

We only rented Skyline because Donald Faison was in it, since we’re big fans of Scrubs we’ll pretty much watch anything that has a Scrubs actor in it. This was your typical aliens-come-to-take-over-the-world-and-we-have-to-save-the-planet kind of movie. The acting wasn’t horrible, and the plot wasn’t very original, I think we only finished it so we would know what happened. the best thing I can say about this movie is it had the most out-there ending I think I have ever seen.

Tron was ok, I fell asleep in it so my opinion doesn’t count for much. I’m not sure how much of my snoozing was due to the movie or the fact that it was past my bedtime. Either way, the part I was awake for was very confusing to me.

I hope you had a wonderful and relaxing weekend!

Leave a Reply

